Nolen holds Newitt at bay

The engrossing metro jockeys’ premiership battle has been won by Luke Nolen.

Luke Nolen went winless for only second time in the past eight metropolitan meetings today at Sportingbet Park (Sandown), but it didn’t prevent the star jockey from holding on to claim another Victorian Metropolitan Jockeys’ Premiership.

Nolen entered the final metro meeting of the year leading Craig Newitt 74 wins to 69 and with Newitt also failing to salute at any of his four rides for the day he was able to maintain his five-win advantage. Dwayne Dunn finished third with 54 wins.

A red-letter day at Caulfield on Saturday, when he combined with Peter Moody for a winning treble, all but put the result beyond doubt.

It is the third consecutive season that Nolen has won the title, following 67 and 71-win seasons the past two years.

Nolen’s biggest supporter, Moody, can officially celebrate a premiership hat-trick of his own after wrapping up another metro trainers’ title.

Victory by Mulaazem in the opening event at Sandown was his 91st city success of the season, leading him to a comfortable win over Mick Price (51) and Robert Smerdon (45).

Katelyn Mallyon hasn’t ridden since a fall at Flemington on 19 May, but she held on to win the metropolitan apprentice jockeys’ premiership.

Mallyon rode 23 city winners for the racing year, five more than boyfriend and nearest rival Jake Noonan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *